The Capillary team has extensive experience developing biomedical devices including insulin pumps and glucose sensors. Each team member has venture-backed startup experience and has developed multiple commercial devices.

Company Founders

Paul Strasma, MBA
President & CEO, Capillary Biomedical, Inc.
Prior: GluMetrics, Abbott Diabetes Care, Baxter Bioscience, Arthur D. Little


Jeffrey Joseph, DO

Professor of Anesthesiology, Thomas Jefferson University and Hospitals
Director, Jefferson Artificial Pancreas Center
Chairman of Scientific and Clinical Advisory Boards, Capillary Biomedical, Inc.

Management Team

Mark Estes, MSIA, BSME

VP Marketing, Capillary Biomedical, Inc.
Prior: Asante Solutions, Medtronic Minimed, Advanced Bionics, Respironics


David Gillett

VP Operations, Capillary Biomedical, Inc.
Prior: iSense, Sotera Wireless, Therafuse, Q3DM, LXN, Polymer Technology, Siemens


Kenneth Hsu, MBA, BSBME

Director Product Development, Capillary Biomedical, Inc.
Prior: Halyard/i-Flow, Sybron Dental, Quest, Baxter, GeneOhm, Aurora Biosciences

Advisory Board Members

Mark DeStefano
Principal Engineer, MD-Designs 
Prior: Animas Corporation, Unilife, Surgical Laser Technologies, AT&T Bell Laboratories


Remmert Laan, MBA
President, Diabetes Insights, LLC
Prior: Sansum Diabetes Center, Roche Diabetes Care, Disetronic Medical Systems


Anthony Lowman, PhD

Dean of Engineering, Rowan University
Prior: Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Temple University


Marc Torjman, PhD

Professor of Anesthesiology, Thomas Jefferson University and Hospitals
Associate Director, Jefferson Artificial Pancreas Center